I was born in Madison, Wisconsin but moved to Jersey Shore, PA at age 4 to grow up on my Pap Pap’s farm in the Susquehanna Valley. An old farm photo is on the right, we lived the 21 room house built-in 1888 called the House of Seven Gables. I have many great memories of that house that include  pretty competitive games of hide and go seek (lots of place to hide in an old 21 room house). My Pap Pap mostly raised seed corn but also every other produce that you can imagine; apples, plums, blueberries, pears, peaches, watermelon, cantaloupes (his favorite), chestnuts, strawberries, squash, potatoes, grapes, asparagus, green beans, peas, cucumbers, cabbage, lettuce….have I left out anything? Wonderful place to grow up! I may be the only person I know that can tell you about de-tasseling corn!

 

My family moved to High Point, NC when I was in high school and I graduated from Trinity High School, which is actually located in a little town just on the outskirts of the south end of High Point. It was quite a different experience moving from the North to the South at that age…..it took me almost a year to actually be able understand what people were saying with their southern drawls but don’t worry I understand ya’ll just fine now!

 

After high school I went to Appalachian State University in Boone, NC mostly because I liked the mountains that reminded me of my Pennsylvania home but also because I could afford it. Although I was accepted to Duke and Chapel Hill University, I chose ASU because I did not want the debt I would have accrued at the others, it is a decision I have never regretted and would not trade my ASU education or experiences for anywhere else. Although I have to say some of the sub-zero temperatures and arctic winds did at the time occasionally make me think otherwise!

 

I got married a couple of years out of college to JD Winkler who I met while at ASU. He is a District Sales Manager with Kincaid Furniture in Virginia and W. Virginia calling on furniture stores that carry the Kincaid’s case goods and upholstery. We have lived in Greensboro for the last 22 years and enjoy the area that we live in, Sedgefield, because of its close proximity to major highways which makes travel much more convenient.

 

As you can see with all my animal photos that I have always had an interest and love of all animals. I have owned everything from mice, rabbits and skunks to my current pets of a horse, Tio, a mutt, Jack and a Frenchie, a.k.a. the Queen of the home, Lily.

 

My hobbies include riding and showing my new horse Tio (just started showing him and we were Champion at our first show) but I have shown in the Hunters all over the southeast from Virginia to Florida whenever I have the time and funds to do so in the Adult Amateur division, which means that we jump Hunter courses at 2’9″ to 3′. My former horse, Graf and I had many successes over the past couple of years, in fact, he and other horses I have owned or been around have taught me the meaning of what it means to work in a true partnership where there has to be both give and take on both sides to be successful. I can’t imagine never having a horse or not riding because it has become part of who I am and want to be. The horses have made me a better person. 

I have also had at least a dog or two as long as I can remember. Lily is the smiling Frenchie to the left! I could not imagine not coming home to a dog because they show me the meaning of unconditional love every time I walk in the door!

 

Other than my menagerie of pets I spend time at the gym, working around the house and reading….I usually have 4+ books going at one time to suit my mood with genre’s varying from mystery, fiction, history, biography, to even the occasional self-help book. In fact, in the last few years I graduated from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro with a MSITM (Master’s of Science in Information Technology Management with a concentration in Digital Marketing but in future I see myself continuing to take courses to keep current with advancing technologies.

 

Don’t know what my next big project, trip or class will be, although I have been holding out for a trip to Italy or a horseback riding trip through the California wine country!

© 2016 by Lorrie Winkler